About us

Marlene Stangier

Early in life I discovered the enjoyment of movement and learnt classical ballet, tennis and Judo as a teenager.

I successfully finished my professional training as a communications engineer and spent four years working in the field before I founded a family. As a mother of three children I learnt jazz dance, hiphop and Flamenco dance in the eighties until I discovered oriental dance in 1989. After many years studying and teaching oriental dance, I began learning Yang style Taiji Quan in 1997. My initial interest soon developed into a passion that has led me ever deeper into Taiji Quan and Qigong, and since 2010 also into Bagua Zhang and Xingyi Quan.

In 1999 I attended my first seminar with master Yang Zhen Duo, and since then have been to China three times where I successfully participated in competitions and intensive training seminars with Yang Zhen Duo and his grandson Yang Jun, the current lineage holder.

I began teaching Yang style Taiji Quan and Qigong in 2002 in Bergisch Gladbach. That year I took an exercise instructor course at the Deutsche Sport Bund (German Sports Association) and further courses at the DSB in 2003 for movement education for children at pre-school age and in 2005 as a spine and back trainer. Since then I’ve attended a number of other intensive training seminars and retreats, studied Yang style Taiji Quan sword and sabre forms, tui shou (push hands), spinal Qigong and Pilates and have expanded my own training.

In 2010 I began learning the two related so-called internal martial arts Bagua Zhang and Xingyi Quan, and due to their dynamic movement forms I gain deeper insights into structure, power and qi in flowing motion. The more I learn, the more I tap into the depth and power of these arts.

Michael Askew

I first encountered physical training when I learned Judo in childhood and later Tae Kwon Do as a young adult.

Only years later in 1994, when I was living in the USA and had started learning Aikido, did I come across the Chinese internal martial and energy arts of Taiji Quan, Bagua Zhang and Qigong. There I learned the basics of these arts with Bruce Frantzis and Bernie Langan. I was also interested in Taoist philosophy and the new perspectives it offered, which I could connect to the discipline of training.

I moved to London in 1997 where I sought a new professional direction, and discovered a promising avenue as English trainer for in-company English language and communication training. Chris Chappell taught Taiji Quan, Bagua Zhang and Qigong in London (the same system I had begun to learn in California) and I continued my training with him for the next couple of years.

I returned to the US at the end of 1999, this time to Colorado, where I worked in the tourist industry and took lessons for Chen and Yang style Taiji Quan, Bagua Zhang and Qigong with Lee Burkins.

I returned to Germany in 2004 and have since lived and worked as a language trainer in Cologne. That year I began learning Yang style Taiji Quan, and visited an intensive retreat in 2005 in China with master Yang Zhen Duo and his grandson Yang Jun, the current lineage holder. Alongside regular classes I have also visited several intensive retreats and seminars in Italy and Germany.

Since 2010 I have been studying Bagua Zhang and Xingyi Quan and regularly attend seminars with Luo Dexiou and other experienced teachers. The more I learn, the more I recognise the scope and depth of these arts. Over the last years my personal training has increasingly developed into a central focal point in life, by which I cultivate my own potential in a self-determined and self-responsible way. As when studying any other art, one discovers one’s limitations, recognises deficits and strengths, and learns to overcome or further these with discipline. This develops character and personality and helps to respond appropriately to life’s demands.

Wer sind wir

Marlene Stangier

Schon in jungen Jahren entdeckte ich den Spaß an der Bewegung und lernte als Teenager Klassisches Ballett, Tennis und Judo.

1978 beendete ich erfolgreich eine Ausbildung zum Ingenieur der Nachrichtentechnik und arbeitete dann vier Jahre in dem Beruf, bevor ich eine Familie gründete. Als Mutter dreier Kinder lernte ich in den 80er Jahren Jazzdance, HipHop und Flamenco, bis ich 1989 zum orientalischen Tanz fand. Nach vielen Jahren orientalischen Tanzstudiums und Unterricht, begann ich 1997 Yang Stil Taiji Quan zu lernen. Aus meinem anfänglichen Interesse ist eine Passion geworden, die mich immer tiefer in Taiji Quan und Qigong und seit 2010 auch in Bagua Zhang und Xingyi Quan geführt hat.

1999 nahm ich an meinem ersten Seminar teil bei Großmeister Yang Zhen Duo und bin seitdem drei mal in China gewesen, wo ich erfolgreich an Wettbewerben und intensiven Traingsseminaren mit Yang Zhen Duo und seinem Enkel Yang Jun, dem gegenwärtigen Linienhalter, teilgenommen habe.

2002 begann ich in Bergisch Gladbach Yang Stil Taiji Quan und Qigong zu unterrichten. In diesem Jahr absolvierte ich einen Kurs beim Deutschen Sport Bund als Übungsleiter und weitere beim DSB 2003 zur Bewegungserziehung im Kleinkind- und Vorschulalter und 2005 zum Rückenschulentrainer. Seitdem habe ich mehrere weitere Intensivseminare und Retreats besucht, Taiji Quan Schwert- und Säbelformen, Tui Shou (Schiebende Hände), sowie Wirbelsäulen Qigong und Pilates gelernt und habe mein eigenes Training erweitert.

Seit 2010 lerne ich die verwandten sogenannten inneren Kampfkünste Bagua Zhang und Xingyi Quan und durch deren dynamische Bewegungsformen vertiefe ich mein Verständnis von Struktur, Kraft und Qi im Bewegungsfluss. Je mehr ich lerne, umso mehr erschließt sich mir der Tiefgang und die Kraft dieser Künste.

Michael Askew

Meine ersten Erfahrungen mit sportlicher Körperarbeit machte ich als Kind beim Judo und später als junger Erwachsener beim Tae Kwon Do.

Erst mehrere Jahre danach in 1994, als ich in den USA lebte und Aikido angefangen hatte, lernte ich die chinesischen Kampf- und Energiekünste Taiji Quan, Bagua Zhang und Qigong kennen. Dort lernte ich von Bruce Frantzis und Bernie Langan die Grundlagen dieser Künste. Die taoistische Philosophie interessierte mich auch und eröffnete mir neue Perspektiven, die ich mit der Trainingsdisziplin verbinden konnte.

1997 zog ich nach London, wo ich mich beruflich neu orientierte und im Sprach- und Kommunikationstraining in Unternehmen als Englischtrainer einen aussichtsreichen Weg sah. Chris Chappell unterrichtete in London Taiji Quan, Bagua Zhang und Qigong (das selbe System, das ich in Kalifornien zu lernen begonnen hatte) und bei ihm trainierte ich die nächsten Jahre weiter.

Ende 1999 zog ich zurück in die USA, diesmal nach Colorado, arbeitete in der Tourismusindustrie und nahm bei Lee Burkins Unterricht in Chen und Yang Stil Taiji Quan, Bagua Zhang und Qigong.

2004 kehrte ich zurück nach Deutschland und seitdem lebe und arbeite ich als Sprachtrainer wieder in Köln. In diesem Jahr begann ich Yang Stil Taiji Quan zu lernen und besuchte 2005 ein Intensivseminar in China mit Meister Yang Zhen Duo und seinem Enkel Yang Jun, dem gegenwärtigen Linienhalter. Neben dem regulären Training habe ich auch an mehreren Intensivseminaren in Italien und Deutschland teilgenommen.

Seit 2010 lerne ich Bagua Zhang und Xingyi Quan und besuche regelmäßig Seminare mit Luo Dexiou und anderen erfahrenen Lehrern. Dabei entdecke ich immer mehr die Bandbreite und Tiefe dieser Künste. Mein persönliches Training hat sich in den letzten Jahren zunehmend zu einem zentralen Lebensmittelpunkt entwickelt, mit dem ich selbstbestimmt mein eigenes Potential kultiviere. Wie beim Erlernen anderer Künste auch, erfährt man eigene Grenzen, erkennt Defizite und Stärken und lernt diese mit Disziplin zu überwinden bzw. zu fördern. Dies entwickelt Charakter und Persönlichkeit und hilft angemessen auf die Anforderungen des Lebens zu reagieren.